Alfisti.co.uk Homepage
FAQ Search Memberlist Usergroups Profile Log in to check your private messages Register Log in

suds and 33's

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Alfisti.co.uk Forum Index -> Alfa Boxer Section- General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
admin
Site Admin

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:56 pm    Post subject: suds and 33's Reply with quote

Hi,

I've done most of the 'jobs' that you would expect to do on Suds, Sprints and 33's, so anyquestions please fire away, and i'll repost a reply. I'm no expert, but have had dirty hands many times!!

Regards,

John (admin)
Wanna-Fixit

PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:18 pm    Post subject: 'Sud restoration Reply with quote

Hey John,
I recently saw a beautifully restored Series 3 Ti 1.3 will rhe full plastics, think it was a 1983 and fell in love with it. I've since begun to search for my own 'Sud and have found two, a 1977 Series 1 1186cc and an early 80s Sprint, which I think is a 1.3. Basically I'm looking for your advice on which would be the better option as a restoration project, and of course which will look best when it's finished? I'd also be very happy with any advice about dealing with rust and how to treat the bodywork to make sure it doesn't come back? Finally, do you think I'd have much difficulty removing the engine and gearbox piece by piece?
Thanks in advance,
Wanna-Fixit
admin
Site Admin

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I don'know where you are based, but in the UK bothnthe sud and sprint rusted badly!

The sprint is arguably a more beutifull car, but the sud is probably a better drive, and a bit more 'chuckable'.